27,324 bags of Lundberg Organic White Jasmine Rice recalled: check lot codes
Lundberg rice recall: 27,324 two-pound bags (55,000 lb) of Organic White Jasmine Rice recalled for possible foreign material. Lot codes, best-by dates, states.

Lundberg Family Farms (recalling firm of record: Wehah Farms, Richvale, California) recalled 27,324 two-pound bags of Organic White Jasmine Rice, roughly 55,000 pounds, because of potential contamination with foreign materials. The Lundberg rice recall is not brand-new: FDA's enforcement record shows it was initiated April 3, 2026 and classified Class II on May 7, 2026; FDA's enforcement database now lists the status as completed. It resurfaced on Aug. 29 and Sept. 1, 2026 after coverage of an FDA update to the listing spread and a Reddit thread passed 1,200 upvotes. Check 2-lb bags with UPC 073416040281 for lot code 260201MA (best before Feb. 1, 2027) or 260202MA (best before Feb. 2, 2027); the FDA record does not describe a consumer remedy, so contact the store or Lundberg about a return.
What was recalled
The product is Lundberg Family Farms Organic White Jasmine Rice in 2-lb (32 oz / 907 g) bags, UPC 073416040281. FDA's enforcement record lists it as "Lundberg Family Farms White Rice Jasmine, Net Wt 32 oz (2 lb) 907 g," manufactured and distributed by Lundberg Family Farms of Richvale, California; the recalling firm of record is Wehah Farms, Richvale, California. The quantity is 27,324 packages, shipped six to a case (4,554 cases), which works out to roughly 55,000 pounds of rice.
Only two lots are involved, both with a February 2027 best-before date; other sizes, other Lundberg varieties and jasmine rice with different lot codes are not on the record.
This is a resurfaced recall. FDA's record shows a recall initiation date of April 3, 2026 and a Class II classification on May 7, 2026; the recall number is H-0767-2026, and FDA's enforcement database lists the status as completed. It came back into view on Aug. 29 and Sept. 1, 2026, when coverage of an FDA listing update spread and a Reddit thread topped 1,200 upvotes, with a gluten-free discussion adding more than 200; the product, lot codes and UPC in that coverage match the April record.
Why it was recalled
The reason on FDA's record is "potential contamination with foreign materials." That is the entire official explanation: FDA has not specified what the foreign material is, and the enforcement listing does not say how it was discovered, whether through a consumer complaint, a retailer or the company's own checks. WEAU's Sept. 1 report noted the same gap.
FDA assigned the recall Class II, which the agency defines as a situation in which use of or exposure to a violative product may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences, or where the probability of serious adverse health consequences is remote. Class I is reserved for a reasonable probability of serious adverse health consequences or death, and Class III for products not likely to cause adverse health consequences.
Some Sept. 1 coverage called the Class II classification a recent update, but the record dates it to May 7, 2026, about five weeks after the recall began, and the record's update history is empty, so whatever prompted the late-August coverage is not visible as a change on the record. Where coverage and the record differ, this article follows the record.
Where it was sold
FDA's enforcement record lists U.S. distribution to 12 states: California, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, North Carolina, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin, with no foreign distribution. Coverage of FDA's updated listing on Aug. 29 and Sept. 1 gave a 13-state list that adds Louisiana and Virginia and omits Vermont. Because the two versions differ, treat all 14 states as possible and go by the lot code.
The retailers named in coverage are Walmart, Target, Whole Foods, Wegmans and Giant. The FDA record does not list retailers, so that list comes from news reports rather than the agency. According to People, Wegmans posted its own recall notice for the same product and lot codes on April 4, which lines up with the April 3 initiation date on the FDA record.
Walmart shoppers also have the Martina mango recall and the resurfaced bettergoods pistachio nut butter recall to track.
How to identify the recalled rice
Everything you need is on the bag: the UPC under the barcode and the lot code printed with the best-before date. FDA's record gives the lot codes as 260201MA (best before 01FEB2027) and 260202MA (best before 02FEB2027); coverage renders those dates as Feb. 1, 2027 and Feb. 2, 2027. Some reports shortened the codes to 260201 and 260202, so match the first six digits and the MA suffix if your bag shows one.
Because the recall began in April, most affected bags left shelves months ago. But rice keeps: a 2-lb bag bought in early spring could still be in a pantry well inside its February 2027 date, which is why an older recall is worth checking. A different lot code or size is not on the record.
| Product | Size | UPC | Lot code | Best before | Sold at (per coverage) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lundberg Family Farms Organic White Jasmine Rice | 2 lb (32 oz / 907 g) bag | 073416040281 | 260201MA | 01FEB2027 (Feb. 1, 2027) | Walmart, Target, Whole Foods, Wegmans, Giant |
| Lundberg Family Farms Organic White Jasmine Rice | 2 lb (32 oz / 907 g) bag | 073416040281 | 260202MA | 02FEB2027 (Feb. 2, 2027) | Walmart, Target, Whole Foods, Wegmans, Giant |
Reported illnesses
FDA's enforcement record does not report illnesses or injuries; the listing has no field for them, and the stated reason is limited to potential foreign material. WEAU's Sept. 1 report did not mention illnesses either.
A company statement carried by People on Aug. 29 said the affected product was removed from store shelves several months ago, that the incident was isolated to a single production run, and that no illnesses were reported from consumption of the affected product. That is the company's account, not an agency finding.
If you find a foreign object in a bag of rice, keep the bag and the object, photograph the lot code, and report it through FDA's Report a Problem page or to Lundberg directly. If you were hurt, see a healthcare provider first.
What consumers should do
Unlike a company press release, an FDA enforcement record does not spell out a consumer remedy, and this one is no exception: it does not say whether Lundberg or the retailers are offering refunds, replacements or anything else. The record says only that the recall is voluntary and firm-initiated, and FDA's database now shows the status as completed.
What you can do is check your pantry for a 2-lb bag with UPC 073416040281 and one of the two lot codes, then contact the store where you bought it or Lundberg Family Farms about returning it. Coverage and the company's statement indicate the product left shelves in the spring, so most affected bags are now in homes, not stores.
- Check any 2-lb bag of Lundberg Organic White Jasmine Rice for UPC 073416040281.
- Look for lot code 260201MA (best before Feb. 1, 2027) or 260202MA (best before Feb. 2, 2027) next to the best-before date.
- If it matches, set the bag aside rather than cooking it, and keep the code readable.
- Contact the store where you bought it, or Lundberg Family Farms through lundberg.com, about a return; the FDA record does not state a remedy.
- If you found foreign material in the rice, report it to FDA through its Report a Problem page.
- Keep your receipt and a photo of the lot code and UPC.
Who issued the recall and when
The official record is FDA's weekly Enforcement Report rather than a company announcement: the record states that no press release was issued, and as of publication there is no recall notice on lundberg.com, so the details here come from the enforcement listing (via FDA's enforcement report database and the openFDA API) and from news coverage.
Key fields on the record: recalling firm Wehah Farms, Richvale, California; recall number H-0767-2026; voluntary, firm-initiated; recall initiation date April 3, 2026; FDA center classification date May 7, 2026; report date May 13, 2026; classification Class II; status completed, with no termination date shown (the openFDA API copy of the record still reads ongoing). The record also states that no press release was issued for this recall, and its update history is empty.
Why it is back in the news: coverage on Aug. 29 reported an FDA update to the listing's product and distribution details, WEAU and other outlets followed on Sept. 1, and Reddit threads (one above 1,200 upvotes, a gluten-free thread above 200) carried it further. Like the Hodo chili crisp tofu recall, it is an existing recall getting a second wave of attention.
How to monitor recalls and why to keep your receipts
Food recalls that come with a press release are posted on FDA's Recalls, Market Withdrawals and Safety Alerts page; ones like this, without a release, show up only in FDA's weekly Enforcement Report. FoodSafety.gov aggregates food alerts; meat and poultry come from USDA FSIS; consumer products from CPSC; vehicles from NHTSA's VIN lookup. Retailer notices and the brand's site round it out.
Keep your receipt and photograph the bag's lot code, UPC and best-before date. That documentation may matter if a store or the company offers a refund or replacement, or if a future claim program becomes available; none is described on the FDA record, and nothing here promises compensation. Owed tracks open class action settlements from companies you have bought from; see the current list.
Glossary
- Enforcement Report
- FDA's weekly listing of recalls the agency has classified, including ones the company never announced with a press release. It is where this rice recall lives.
- Class II recall
- FDA's middle category: use of the product may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences, or the probability of serious consequences is remote.
- Recall number
- FDA's identifier for a specific recalled product (here, H-0767-2026), assigned when the agency classifies the recall.
- Recall initiation date
- The date the firm began the recall, per FDA's record (here, April 3, 2026), as opposed to the later classification and report dates.
- Lot code
- The production identifier printed with the best-before date (here, 260201MA and 260202MA). Recalls apply only to the lots named.
- UPC
- The Universal Product Code under the barcode. The recalled 2-lb bag carries UPC 073416040281.
FAQ
No. FDA's enforcement record shows the recall began April 3, 2026 and was classified Class II on May 7, 2026. It resurfaced in late August and on Sept. 1 after coverage of an FDA listing update and a Reddit thread with more than 1,200 upvotes.
Only 2-lb bags of Lundberg Family Farms Organic White Jasmine Rice, UPC 073416040281, with lot code 260201MA (best before Feb. 1, 2027) or 260202MA (best before Feb. 2, 2027).
FDA has not specified it. The record says only "potential contamination with foreign materials," and news coverage confirmed the agency had not identified the material.
FDA defines Class II as a situation in which use of or exposure to a product may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences, or where the probability of serious adverse health consequences is remote.
Coverage names Walmart, Target, Whole Foods, Wegmans and Giant. FDA's record lists distribution to states rather than retailers, and its state list has appeared in 12-state and 13-state versions, so go by the lot code.
The FDA record does not state a remedy. Contact the store where you bought it or Lundberg Family Farms about a return, and keep your receipt and a photo of the lot code.
- FDA enforcement record — recall H-0767-2026 (openFDA API)
- FDA — Enforcement Report database (recall information search)
- WEAU — More than 27,000 packages of jasmine rice recalled for possible contamination of 'foreign material'
- People — FDA issues update on white rice recalled in 13 states
- FDA — Recalls background and definitions (Class I, II and III)
- Lundberg Family Farms — Organic White Jasmine Rice, 2 lb (product page)
This article is based on public information as of Sep 1, 2026; features, prices and deadlines change. Owed is not a law firm and nothing here is legal, tax or financial advice. Corrections →


